Spec the open-ended tub when your channel sells free play, classroom corners or repeat top-up orders; spec the numbered-bag kit when the box has to promise one finished model and a guided build. The split is not decided by brand or by piece count on the box — it is decided by two pieces of evidence you can demand before the PO: the packing spec and the instruction sheet. MOQ and unit price appear below only where the record states them; everything else is marked 'ask TDS' or 'varies by spec'.
In Chenghai, the argument that ends a colour fight is the sealed golden sample on the QC shelf — bulk is compared to that physical piece on colour, fit, flash and function, and buyers who approve only a photo pay for it on the second lot. That practice reshapes how you evaluate a tub versus a kit, because the two formats fail in completely different places.
Key Takeaways for Building-Block Buyers
- An open-ended brick tub is a reuse proposition: its evidence is a piece list and a pack that supports many builds, not one. If the supplier cannot show the part mix by part number, you are buying an assortment, not a program.
- A numbered-bag model kit is a sequence proposition: its evidence is a bag map plus an instruction sheet in the channel's language. A numbering error is a mass-production error, and the inputs do not state which candidate SKUs ship with numbered bags at all.
- MOQ and unit price are the only hard commercial numbers in the record: stated MOQs run from 16 to 240 pieces and stated unit prices from 1.22 USD to 6.98 USD, so a low-MOQ trial is possible before you commit to a format.
- Neither proposition can be certified by an Incoterm. FOB, CIF and DDP allocate trade responsibility; they do not replace CE, CPC or UKCA evidence, and electrical functions are assessed separately from mechanical toy safety.
- Ask for the inspection plan on the PO rather than an AQL number in a catalogue sentence — a catalogue AQL is not an inspection plan, and defect classes belong on the purchase order.
The Two Propositions Side by Side
| Rank | Option | 1 | Open-ended brick tub proposition |
|---|---|
| Packing evidence to demand | Piece list by part number, piece-to-bag ratio, tub or bulk pack spec — ask supplier; not stated for any candidate SKU |
| Instruction evidence to demand | No fixed build, or a simple idea sheet; language and page count — ask supplier |
| Reuse profile | Flexible reuse across many builds; suits free play, classroom and sensory-corner programs |
| Stated MOQ range on candidate SKUs | 16 to 240 pieces depending on SKU |
| Stated unit price range on candidate SKUs | 1.22 USD to 6.98 USD depending on SKU |
| Stated lead time | 25-35 days on the flower stacking set; not stated for other SKUs |
| Main design risk | Narrow part mix collapses the 'open-ended' claim into a one-build pile |
| Rank | Option | 2 | Numbered-bag model kit proposition |
| Packing evidence to demand | Bag map: bag count, part numbers per bag, numbering scheme — ask supplier; not stated for any candidate SKU |
| Instruction evidence to demand | Step sequence, language set, revision number — ask supplier; not stated for any candidate SKU |
| Reuse profile | Guided assembly toward one model; shorter engagement window once built |
| Stated MOQ range on candidate SKUs | 16 to 240 pieces depending on SKU |
| Stated unit price range on candidate SKUs | 1.22 USD to 6.98 USD depending on SKU |
| Stated lead time | 25-35 days on the flower stacking set; not stated for other SKUs |
| Main design risk | Wrong bag numbering or wrong instruction language makes the kit unsellable |
| Shared verification basis (both options) | Sealed golden sample on the QC shelf compared to bulk on colour, fit, flash and function |
| Shared acceptance basis (both options) | Inspection plan and defect classes written on the PO — no AQL number is stated in the record |
| Shared compliance note (both options) | Incoterms do not certify the toy; CE, CPC or UKCA evidence is separate and market-specific |
How We Separated Flexible Reuse From Guided Assembly
The two propositions are ranked on packing and instruction evidence, not on brand preference or box art. Four criteria decide the placement: what the pack physically contains, whether the build is fixed or open, how the product is accepted at inspection, and what the buyer can verify on a sample before mass production. Commercial numbers appear only where the record states them — MOQ, unit price and one lead time — and everything else is marked as something to request.
That means you will not find a Shore A figure, a tear strength, a defect rate or a certification status in this comparison. None of it is in the record, and inventing a 'typical range' would be worse than leaving the cell open. Where a value is missing, the table says ask TDS or varies by spec, and the body tells you which document to request instead.
The candidate SKUs behind both propositions are plastic and ABS building sets — dinosaur track and marble-run sets, animal brick sets, flower and botanical stacking sets, truck and maze track sets, and a 42-piece electronic set with sound and light. Material words and MOQ are stated; mechanical properties are not.
Which Proposition Fits Free-Play, Classroom and Sensory Channels?
Choose the open-ended brick tub if the child, not the booklet, decides what gets built. The commercial logic is repeat purchase: a tub that keeps working after the first week earns shelf space again, while a kit that has been built once competes with itself on the next visit. The retail evidence for this is behavioural, not technical — buyers in education supply describe tubs as multi-age inventory that sells on reuse and low clutter rather than on a single finished model.
The instruction side of the evidence is the cleanest differentiator. Open-ended play is defined by having no instructions, no fixed rules and no single correct outcome; closed products carry one purpose and fade once mastered. If your channel is a classroom, a sensory corner or a shared table, that definition is your buying brief. The closest on-topic example in the record is a curated sensory range built for shared tables with simple packaging and short local-language instructions, sold into school sensory-corner programs that renew each semester — a program, not a one-off SKU.
What you cannot see from a catalogue is the part mix. With no build sequence, the child's first experience is whatever the loose parts allow, so a narrow mix turns an open-ended claim into a one-build pile. Ask for the piece list by part number and the piece-to-bag ratio before you approve the format. A photo in reply is not packing evidence.
When Does a Numbered-Bag Model Kit Earn Its Shelf Space?
A numbered-bag kit wins when the promise on the box is one finished model and a guided build. Gift, birthday and 'build what's on the front' channels pay for that promise, and the price band can carry it. The risk moves from part mix to sequence integrity: if bag 3 does not fit bag 2, the product fails even when every brick is in tolerance. Wrong numbering, or an instruction sheet in the wrong language, makes the kit unsellable regardless of brick quality.
The record does not state which, if any, of the candidate SKUs ships with numbered bags, and it does not state instruction language, page count or reading level for any of them. Treat the guided-assembly proposition as unverified until you hold the bag map and a physical instruction sheet in your target language.
One practical note on how the sequence gets verified. A booth sample is often a hero unit: at the Canton Fair the practice is to label tool number and revision on the table and refuse to accept a fair photo as the production standard, because fair lighting lies and the revision card does not. Apply the same rule to a kit. Approve the revision, not the photograph.
Verify Performance: What to Test on the Sample, and Which Document Row to Demand
The record gives you material words — ABS and Plastic — plus MOQ and unit price. It gives you no mechanical number at all: no TDS, no Shore A, no tear strength, no impact result, no AQL. That gap is closed with a test and a document request, not with an assumed range. Ask for the TDS row that states the resin grade and any stated mechanical property, and ask which method the factory uses for clutch or pull-apart force. If the TDS has no such row, write it down as unverified rather than average.
For the tub, the performance question is whether the brick still clutches after repeated assembly and whether the pack survives handling. For the kit, it shifts to bag-to-bag consistency. In both cases the stated verification method is the same: the sealed golden sample on the QC shelf, with bulk compared to that physical piece on colour, fit, flash and function.
On acceptance, the record contains no AQL number, and the stated practice is to isolate a failed lot, record the defect class and release only after rework. So the question to put to the supplier is not 'what is your AQL' but 'what inspection plan and defect classes are written on this PO'. A catalogue sentence is not an inspection plan.
Design Risk: Where Each Proposition Breaks Before Mass Production
The tub breaks quietly. No sequence means no forced build, so a thin part mix produces a set that only makes one thing — and the buyer discovers it after the container lands, not on the sample table. Lock the piece list, the piece-to-bag ratio and what ships besides bricks. If the pack is meant to travel with a local-language idea sheet, confirm the language set and the revision number, because a stale sheet is a stale product.
The kit breaks loudly. Sequence is the product, so every numbering and language decision is a production decision. Demand the bag map, demand the instruction sheet in the channel's language, and hold a sealed golden sample of the assembled model on the QC shelf. Both propositions also share a colour and fit risk that only the sealed sample resolves — emails do not settle a colour dispute, and a photo approval is not an approval.
One compliance item belongs in this comparison and only one. Where a set carries an electronic function, the battery compartment is a compartment-and-warning question before it is a toy-function question: check screw closure, tool access and the warning text, because a compartment that opens with fingernails does not ship. The record does not state whether the 42-piece sound-and-light set uses a button cell, so confirm the cell type and closure on the physical sample. Separately, electrical functions are assessed apart from mechanical toy safety, and radio or EMC requirements apply where a toy transmits. Incoterms are not certification.
Three Questions to Put to the Factory Before You Order
First: does this SKU ship as a loose tub or as numbered bags, and can you send the packing spec in writing — bag count, numbering scheme, part numbers per bag? Second: what is the instruction sheet for this exact SKU — language, page count, revision number — and can you send a physical copy? Third: what inspection plan and defect classes will be written on the PO, and will bulk be compared to a sealed golden sample on the QC shelf rather than to a photo?
If the supplier cannot answer the first two, you do not yet know which of the two propositions you are buying. If they cannot answer the third, you have no acceptance basis. Those three answers, in writing, are worth more than any catalogue sentence about quality.
FAQ
What MOQ should I expect for a building-block tub or a numbered-bag kit?
The stated MOQs on candidate building-block SKUs run from 16 to 240 pieces, so a low-MOQ trial is realistic before you commit to a format. The smallest stated trials are a 3-in-1 dinosaur track set at MOQ 16 and a 42-piece electronic set at MOQ 18; the largest stated trial is a custom 72-piece set at MOQ 240. Confirm the MOQ for the exact SKU, because it varies by spec.
Which is cheaper per unit — an open-ended tub or a model kit?
Unit price follows the SKU, not the format. Stated prices on candidate building-block sets run from 1.22 USD for a 36-piece animal brick set to 6.98 USD for a 64-piece truck and maze track set, with a 3-in-1 dinosaur set at 4.53 USD and a flower stacking set at 3.40 USD. Compare landed cost only after the packing spec is fixed, because bag count and instruction sheets change the cost base.
How do I know whether a SKU ships with numbered bags?
You do not, until the supplier sends the bag map. The record does not state which of the candidate SKUs ships with numbered bags, nor the instruction language or page count for any of them. Request the bag map and a physical instruction sheet in your target language before you approve the guided-assembly proposition.
What lead time applies to these building-block sets?
Only one candidate SKU states a lead time: the flower stacking set at 25-35 days. Lead time is not stated for the other building-block SKUs in the record, so treat it as unknown and confirm per SKU before you plan a launch window.
Does an Incoterm like FOB or DDP cover toy compliance?
No. FOB, CIF, DDP and other Incoterms allocate trade responsibilities but do not certify the toy and do not replace CE, CPC or UKCA market evidence. Compliance paperwork has to match the market and the lot, and electrical functions are assessed separately from mechanical toy safety.
What should I check on a sample before approving mass production?
Compare bulk against a sealed golden sample on colour, fit, flash and function — not against a photo or an email. For a kit, also verify bag numbering and the instruction sheet revision; for an electronic set, verify the battery compartment closure, tool access and warning text. Confirm the inspection plan and defect classes on the PO, since no AQL number is stated in the catalogue.
Sources
Related Products & Categories
Specify the Right Proposition Before the PO
Decide the format first, then the SKU: tub for reuse and repeat purchase, numbered bags for a guided build and a finished model. Send your target channel, destination market and trial quantity, and we will tell you which packing and instruction documents to request for each candidate set — and which cells in the comparison are still open.
